Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

MATSAPHA – Salesian High School Head teacher Petros Horton pulled out of the EPA NEC race and as a result, four members of the newly- elected executive committee won uncontested.

The four newly-elected Eswatini Principals Association (EPA) national executive committee (NEC) members, who won the elections unopposed, include the President-elect, Welcome Mhlanga. EPA held its elective conference at Esibayeni Lodge yesterday. Initially, there were three candidates who were nominated uncontested and they were Mhlanga, who was vying for the position of president, Mduduzi Masilela, who was contesting for being the General Secretary and Gugu Dlamini, who was contending for the Deputy General Secretary position. It is worth noting that the three aforementioned candidates held the same positions in the outgoing NEC.


However, the associations’ outgoing Vice President, Horton, who is the Head teacher at Salesian High School, withdrew from the elections at the 11th hour. Horton was nominated for the same position together with Phindile Makhanya, who was the Publication Editor in the outgoing NEC. The withdrawal of Horton, who cited personal reasons, left Makhanya as the only candidate vying for the vice president position. Thereafter, the conference delegates agreed that they would accept the candidates who were unopposed in the positions which they were nominated for, without casting their votes for them. As a result, the delegates cast their votes for the remaining three NEC positions, which are; treasurer, organising secretary and publication editor. for the treasurer position, there were two contestants and they were; Jerome Dlamini from the Hhohho Region and Timilili Mamba from Manzini Region. Dlamini became the Treasurer-elect after beating Mamba by 46 votes to 31 votes.

On the other hand, three candidates were nominated for the position of Organising Secretary and they were; Amos Vilakati, Thembi Mokoena and Thembekile Mndzebele. Vilakati was holding the same position in the outgoing NEC, but he lost the post to Mokoena, who got 39 votes, while the outgoing organising secretary and Mndzebele obtained seven and 31 votes respectively.


Meanwhile, the race was tough for the position of publication editor, where there were two nominees; Armstrong Dlamini from the Lubombo Region and Lungelo Nhlengetfwa from Hhohho Region. Dlamini recorded a victory over Nhlengetfwa with 40 votes over 38 votes. It is worth noting that the president-elect first led the association in 2015 on an acting basis and this was before he was elected into the position in 2017 and now he has retained his position. However, this term is, according to the EPA Constitution, the last one.

Comments (0 posted):

Post your comment comment

Please enter the code you see in the image:

Should government pay E1 500 unemployment grant?