Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

MBABANE – Phocweni, outside Matsapha, will be home to an individual time trial for a second straight year.

The race will be staged along the Phocweni-Masundvwini Road next Sunday from 6:30am.  Eswatini Cycling Association (ECA) President Sihlangu Nhlabatsi confirmed the latest developments, saying the event would be divided into two categories. Daring and senior cyclists will feature in a 38km race while the rest will be accommodated in a 19km event.

“Entry fee for the longest event is E100. Cyclists featuring in the shorter race will pay half the amount.
“Unlicensed cyclists are required to pay an extra E35 for a daily licence,” he said.

Winning in the past year was MTN Khemani’s Mduduzi Zwane in 01:03:21 hours. Muzi Shabangu and Sicelo Phiri completed the list of podium finishers with a time of 1:04:23     and 1:04:46, respectively.  Kwanele Jele clocked 35:30 minutes to win the shorter event.     

Meanwhile, in this event, cyclists race alone against the clock on flat or rolling terrain. Starting times are at equal intervals, usually one or two minutes apart. Highest ranked cyclists are supposed to start last. Winning depends only on each cyclist’s strength and endurance and not on help provided by teammates.

Comments (0 posted):

Post your comment comment

Please enter the code you see in the image:

: Passing subject
Should English continue being a passing subject in schools?