Home | News | Communications Commissions and Royal Science and Technology Park Boards

Communications Commissions and Royal Science and Technology Park Boards

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font

MBABANE – Minister of  Information,  Communications and Technology (ICT) Winnie Magagula announced the appointment of two Boards.

These are the Swaziland Communications Commission (SCC) Board and the Royal Science and Technology Park (RSTP) Board.


When announcing the SCC Board the minister said Mandla Stan Motsa would be the regulator, albeit on acting basis.
Magagula, before announcing the entire Board explained that Motsa would act for a period of one year during the transitional period.


“He will be working alongside Bongiwe Duma who will be the legal adviser and Dudu Sihlongonyane as part of management. Stan Motsa will also be the acting CEO of the Commission. They will be acting in these positions for a period of one year,” Magagula said.
She explained that the SCC would be the communications regulatory authority in terms of the Swaziland Communications Commission Act of 2013.
She said section 3 of the Act thereof vested powers to the ministry to appoint the board.


The minister also announced appointment of the Board for the Royal Science and Technology Park (RSTP).
In announcing the members, Magagula recounted that the Royal Science and Technology Park Act passed in 2012.
“Section 3 of the PEU (Public Enterprise Unit) Act provides that the RSTP will be a paras-tatal.
The RSTP has two departments, the Bio-technology Park which is situated at Nokwane and the Innovation Park at Phocweni.


“This Board will oversee works to be done at the two institutions,” the minister explained.
She added that Section 4 of the Royal Science and Technology Park stipulate that the board members should be people with a good educational qualification in different industries.

Section 4 of the Act prescribes that board should come from the following vocations; Industry, education, agriculture, law, accounting and other stakeholders that the ministry may deem necessary to the parastatal’s mandate of science, research and technology.

Magagula then annou-nced that the board would be led by Dr Aaron Musa Dube who represents the agriculture industry as chairman.


Comments (0 posted):

Post your comment comment

Please enter the code you see in the image: